My Basket0


Promote your knowledge and technical expertise

Completing one of our qualifications is universally recognised as evidence of knowledge and technical expertise. It’s a mark of achievement you should be proud of and our designations enable you to promote your technical competence and ongoing commitment to professional standards with pride.

As you progress through our qualification framework, your membership category changes to reflect the level of qualification you hold.

Our designations are more than just letters after your name, they come with commitments;

Consequently, these demonstrate to employers, peers and clients a commitment to self-improvement and adherence to clear standards of practice and behaviour.

The table below shows the designations available at each membership level, along with the eligibility criteria:

Membership level


Eligibility criteria


Chartered Financial Planner

Holding the Advanced Diploma in Financial Planning with at least five years' relevant sector experience



Completed the PFS Fellowship programme, The Personal Finance Society’s highest achievement  

Advanced Diploma


Holding the Advanced Diploma in Financial Planning



Holding the Diploma in Regulated Financial Planning or Diploma in Financial Planning



Holding the Certificate in Financial Planning (now withdrawn)

CertPFS (Paraplanning)

Holding the Certificate in Paraplanning

CertPFS (Securities)

Holding the Certificate in Securities Advice and Dealing

CertPFS (DM)

Holding the Certificate in Discretionary Investment Management

*These are administered by EFPA and not The Personal Finance Society