My Basket0

Certificate in Regulated Financial Services Operations

Targeted learning for operational development

The level 3 Certificate in Regulated Financial Services Operations develops the essential knowledge and skills needed by those working in administrative and operational roles.

Along with a core unit, candidates are required to study two further option units from a choice of five based on areas of life, pensions and investments. satisfying the FCA qualification requirements for overseers of administration and operational functions.

The Certificate is the ideal next step for holders of the Award in Financial Administration or Certificate in Investment Operations, requiring completion of just one further unit.

  • Operational or administrative staff working in financial services
  • Anyone moving in to an administrative overseer role needing to comply with FCA appropriate qualification requirements

Before studying, check to see whether any of your previous academic qualifications or credits from other professional bodies and institutes can be carried towards completion of the Certificate.

Find out more about recognition of prior learning

Specific study time guidelines are provided for each unit on its webpage and in the CII qualifications brochure. The notional Ofqual ‘Total Qualification Time’ for this qualification is 190 hours. This represents the time a student might typically take to complete the qualification by the shortest combination of units. The number of hours may increase dependent on the units chosen so will be between 190-200 hours.

Certificate level units are a assessed by multiple choice question (MCQ) exams. For online MCQ exams, results notification is immediate on completion. For paper-based MCQ exams, results are released five weeks' following the exam sitting.

Find out more about assessments, including policies and exam centres

Qualification units are delivered through purchasing an Enrolment, equipping you with the essential materials to support core learning. For a single fee, an Enrolment typically includes: study text, assessment and access to RevisionMate, our online study tool. 

We also offer additional revision aids through purchasing Enrolment plus for most key units. These range from Key fact booklets and Question packs, to Learn online tutorials.

Due to the extent of syllabus overlap, certain combinations of current and withdrawn units will result in only one award of credits.

If a withdrawn equivalent is held you may not need to complete a current unit in order to satisfy a qualification's completion rules. Clarification should always be sought from CII Customer Service.

Find out more about credit awards for equivalent units

Completion requirements

Core units

The Certificate comprises one core unit and two option units, providing a total of 35 credits on successful completion. There is no prescribed order in which units must be taken, but it is strongly recommended that you sit the required core unit first as these provide foundation knowledge upon which the others build.

Financial services, regulation & ethics
Credits : 20
Level : 4
UK financial services, regulation & ethics
Credits : 15
Level : 3
Option units

Choose two units from the following:

Please note - FA4 and FA6 will be withdrawn on 31st August 2019. Those wishing to complete either unit must pass the exam by this date. Qualifications and credits achieved via FA4 and FA6 will be valid post withdrawal. Following this date, the Certificate will have three option units to choose from.

Life office administration
Credits : 10
Level : 3
Pensions administration
Credits : 10
Level : 3
Collective investment scheme administration
Credits : 10
Level : 3
Individual savings accounts administration
Credits : 10
Level : 3
Investment client servicing
Credits : 10
Level : 3